In this year's case study, you will explore how the weaving together of digital technology with offline shopping can improve the performance of a fashion retailer of your choice.  Click below to view a list of our frequently asked questions as further support during the application process. 

CASE STUDY COMPETITION FAQ

 

What is the judging criteria for the $5,000 case study competition?

You will be judged on the depth and relevance of your research (30% of score), the creativity and feasibility of your ideas (50% of score) and the clarity with which you portray both (15% of score). Following format directions will account for the remaining 5% of your score. Your case will be judged by industry professionals including the YMA FSF Board of Governors, YMA FSF Mentors, and YMA FSF Alumni. They will be using the following criteria to score your case:

RESEARCH (30%)

• Has the scholar completed exhaustive research on best-in-class market players and their retailer of choice in order to successfully fulfill the objective at hand?

• Has the scholar acknowledged any instances in which their idea (or something close to) has been executed in the past, and whether it was successful?

• Does the scholar display strong business acumen and common sense?

CREATIVITY & FEASIBILITY (50%)

• Is the scholar’s idea unique, inspiring and innovative?

• Is the scholar’s idea well-thought-out and conceivably executable?

CLARITY (15%)

• Has the scholar clearly completed each portion of their prompt?

• Does the scholar’s case follow logical development and a clear structure; is it easy to follow and summarize?

FORMAT (5%)

• Has the scholar followed all formatting directions, 1" margins on all 4 sides, double spaces, size 12pt Times Roman font?

• Has the scholar used correct grammar and spelling?

• Has the scholar included a title page with one sentence to summarize the case?

• Was the student's name and school was kept anonymous?

When is the case study due?

The completed case study is due October 16, 2017.

What date will the 2018 prompt be released?

The 2018 case study prompt was published on March 3rd, 2017 to all FSF academic partners. Please reach out to your school's FSF educator for more information.

Must the retailer chosen to complete the case study be a US apparel company?

No, scholars are free to chose a retailers that is not based in the US. They are also free to chose a retailer within not just apparel, but also accessories, home and beauty.

I am currently a high-school senior and I have been accepted to one of the FSF member schools. Can I apply for the scholarship prior to starting my freshman year?

Unfortunately, the scholarship is open only to students currently enrolled at one of our member schools. High school seniors must wait until their freshman year in order to apply.

How do I access the 2018 case study prompt?

To access the 2018 case study prompt, reach out to your school’s FSF educator. For your convenience, here is a list of FSF Educators by school:

Academy of Art University - Jinah Oh, Joh@academyart.edu

Arizona, University of - Kylee Vanek , kvanek@email.arizona.edu

Auburn University - Carol Warfield, cwarfield@auburn.edu

Barnard College - Donna Holder, dholder@barnard.edu

Brandeis - Alan Bertman, abertman@brandeis.edu

Buffalo State - Lynn M. Boorady, Booradlm@buffalostate.edu

Cal-Berkeley - Renee Camarena, renee@haas.berkeley.edu

California College of the Arts - John Bauernfeind, j.bauernfeind@cca.edu

Cal-State Polytechnic U - Peter Kilduff, pkilduff@cpp.edu

Colorado State University - Nancy Miller, Nancy.Miller@colostate.edu

Columbia College in Chicago - Dana Hall, dconnell@colum.edu

Columbus College Art & Design - Patricia Carlos ,

Cornell University - Tasha Lewis, TLL28@cornell.edu

Delaware, University of - Brenda Shaffer, bshaffer@udel.edu

Drexel University - Alphonso McClendon, sg94qs5s@drexel.edu

Fashion Institute of Technology - Jennifer Maden, jennifer_maden@fitnyc.edu

FIDM - Roni Miller Start, rmiller@fidm.edu

Florida State University - Ann Langston, alangston@fsu.edu

Florida, University of - Cecila Schulz, Cecilia.schulz@warrington.ufl.edu

George Brown College - Marilyn McNeil-Morin, mmcneil@georgebrown.ca

Georgia, University of - Greg Vessels, gvessels@uga.edu

Harvard University - Benny Belvin , bbelvin@fas.harvard.edu

Indiana University - Deb Christiansen, delchris@indiana.edu

Iowa State University - Ann Thye, annthye@iastate.edu

Kansas State University - Hannah Schuh, hannaheb@k-state.edu

Kent State University - Jewon Lyu, jlyu@kent.edu

Lehigh University - Nevena Koukova , nek205@lehigh.edu

LIM - Marla Greene, marla.greene@limcollege.edu

Marist College - Jodi Hartmann, Jodi.Hartmann1@marist.edu

Miami International, - Charlene Parsons, cparsons@aii.edu

Minnesota, University of - Elizabeth Bye, ebye@umn.edu

Missouri, University of - Columbia - Pamela Norum, NorumP@missouri.edu

Morehouse College - James Tyson, james.tyson@morehouse.edu

New York University - Yevgeniya Traps, yt21@nyu.edu

North Carolina @ Greensboro - Nancy Nelson Hodges, NJNELSON@uncg.edu

North Carolina State University - Kent Hester, kent_hester@ncsu.edu

Ohio State University - Alexandra Ruiz Suer, suer.15@osu.edu

Oklahoma State - Diane Morton Limbaugh, diane.morton@okstate.edu

Otis College of Art & Design - Jane Engelman, engelman@otis.edu

Parsons School of Design - Shannon Price, prices@newschool.edu

Philadelphia University - Sheila Connelly, connellys@philau.edu

Pratt Institute - Van Lupu , vlupu@pratt.edu

Purdue University - Susan Owens, skowens@purdue.edu

Rhode Island School of Design - Kathleen Grevers , kgrevers@risd.edu

Rhode Island, Univ of - Susan L. Hannel, susanhannel@uri.edu

Santa Clara University - Cynthia Gamage , Cgamage@scu.edu

Savannah College of Art & Design - Doris Treptow, dtreptow@scad.edu

Stephens College - Monica McMurray, MMcMurry@stephens.edu

Syracuse University - Rosemarie P Crisalli , rpcrisal@syr.edu

Texas A & M University - Cheryl Bridges, c-bridges@mays.tamu.edu

Texas North, University of - Laura Storm, Laura.Storm@unt.edu

Texas, University of - Nancy Prideaux, nprideaux@utexas.edu

UCLA - Angela Campbell, adeaver@college.ucla.edu

University of Southern California - Dennis Schorr, Dschorr@marshall.usc.edu

Virginia Commonwealth University - Deidra Arington, dwarrington@vcu.edu

Washington University in St. Louis - Casey Jenkerson, caseyjenkerson@wustl.edu

Washington, University of - Emily Smith, emilys42@uw.edu

Wharton School, University of Penn - Susan McMullen, mcmullen@wharton.upenn.edu

Wisconsin, University of - Madison - Holly Easland, heasland@wisc.edu

Yeshiva University - Debra Pine, dpine@yu.edu

What is the page count requirement for the 2018 case study?

While in the past, the FSF case studies had a specific page count requirement for each part of the prompt, the 2018 is no longer broken up into sections. All case studies must be no longer than 10 pages: this does not include appendix, bibliography and footnotes, which should take up no more than 5 additional pages.

How do you define a curated collection?

A curated collection is a collection that can lend itself to be displayed as a destination that customers go to visit instead of simply shop. This could be, but is not limited to, collections featuring both clothing and accessories or other lifestyle items. It could also be, but is not limited to, a collection or assortment that can stand alone or sit within a larger collection, brand, or store. The fashion retailer chosen does not necessarily have to have offered a curated collection before. What is most important is that the collection can clearly accomplish the ultimate goal of the case study, which is to drive store traffic in an evermore digital world.

 

Have a question about the 2018 FSF Case Study Competition?  Inquire below!

Name *
Name